A Letter to the Parish from Deacon Patricia

A Letter to the Parish
By Deacon Patricia Marks
Posted October 4, 2013

The Rev. Deacon Patricia Marks

Dear Christ Church Family,

For the past several months, I have been reconsidering my path in life. And so I am writing to say that I have decided to retire from the active diaconate on November 22nd, which is the tenth anniversary of my ordination.

My husband and I are both looking ahead to the next decade or so, and, God willing, will continue writing and researching, traveling and serving. I also have in mind what Fr. Downs said after my discernment, and that is that I would be a “preachin’, teachin’ deacon.” There are, of course, many ways to fulfill that goal: among them is focusing on what I wanted to be early in life—and that is a writer.

It has been a privilege to be a member of the clergy serving the Christ Church family and the Diocese of Georgia. As the church grows and changes, I pray that we will all listen with the ears of our heart for God’s call to serve both in the church and in the wider community.

With heartfelt thanksgiving for all of the dear brothers and sisters who have mentored and supported me throughout the years, I remain,

Deacon Patricia