A Letter from the Rev. Tar Drazdowski

A Letter from the Rev. Tar Drazdowski
Posted December 30, 2013

The Rev. Tar Drazdowski during Christ Church's mission trip in the Dominican Republic in June 2010.

Dear Christ Church Family,

Thank you for the many expressions of love extended to Jim and to me during this Christmas season. Love abounds at Christ Church! I thank you for the cards, gifts, and all of the beautiful expressions of love shown to us. You truly are blessings in our lives.

My sabbatical is about to begin! I am very excited and I want to share with you what I will be doing (or what I think that I will be doing! When working in another diocese, plans can change quickly.)

As you know, during the last two years I have been in discernment. This process has been enlightening to say the least. I have attended workshops, which have helped me to understand myself better as a person and a priest. Members of our parish have been an important part of this process as they participated in two surveys. This has given me specific feedback on my emotional intelligence as well as the strengths and weaknesses of my ministry. I am grateful to all who participated.

This information has given me important insights that will help me decide what will come next.

In October, I attended CREDO, which is a retreat for clergy and laypeople who are employed by the church. While at CREDO I was strongly encouraged to write a plan of action around areas I identify as important. One of the areas I have identified as needed more structure is self-care. I have come to the realization that if I take better care of myself then I can minister to God’s people more effectively.

While I am on my sabbatical, I have a three-part plan.

The first part of this plan is to become more familiar with the language, culture, and life in the Dominican Republic.

The second part of this plan is to reestablish spiritual disciplines. I will be living at the Dominican Episcopal seminary in Santo Domingo and will be able to attach myself to the rhythm of daily prayers said in Spanish.

The third part of this plan is to establish healthy routine of self-care. Diet and exercise are areas I want to adjust in my daily habits.

To some this may sound like eight weeks of self-discovery, but in reality, the self-discovery work has already been done. The focus of the next eight weeks will be to draw closer to God so that when I return, I can be energized, ready, willing, and able to serve God to the best of my ability.

I will return in March 2014. I look forward to sharing my educational experiences with you!

I will hold you close to my heart while you continue to do your work through this transition. I will be praying that God will send you a faithful pastor who will allow you to see the many gifts and talents you already possess. I pray that your new pastor will encourage you to use those God-given gifts to continue to build the Kingdom of God in this church, in this community and in the world.

Blessings,
Tar+